Dominating the valley
Perched above a high rocky ridge, the Doria Castle dominates the town of Dolceacqua and the first part of Nervia Valley.
Built by the Counts of Ventimiglia in the 12th century, it was bought in 1270 by Oberto Doria, becoming the county’s main fort.
Several times widened over the centuries, it was partially destroyed in 1744 during the War of the Austrian Succession and never rebuilt again.
Home to fascinating legends, the remains of the castle, consolidated and restored, can be visited all year round.
Testo a cura di Ilaria Veneruso, immagini di Corrado Agnese e Nicola Ferrarese.